## ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING - 25 MAY 2010 - APPENDIX 7

## **Committees, Sub-Committees and Panels – Memberships**

	Double Aggregated Committees and Panels			
(i)	Licensing Committee (15 members)			
	Conservative Group – K Chana, R Gadsby, J Hedges, J Knapman, A Lion, M McEwen, B Rolfe, M Sartin, P Smith			
	Liberal Democrats Group – P Brooks, D Dodeja			
	LRA Group – K Angold-Stephens, L Leonard, D Wixley			
	Independent Member: R Morgan (Conservative Group nomination)			
(ii)	Housing Appeals and Review Panel (5 members and 5 substitutes)			
	Conservative Group –	Member(s) – R Barrett, R Gadsby, M McEwen Substitute(s) – J Hedges, J Lea, B Rolfe		
	Liberal Democrats Group	– Member(s) – J Sutcliffe Substitute(s) – J H Whitehouse		
	LRA Group –	Member(s) – C Pond Substitute(s) – Jennie Hart		

(iii)	Staff Appeals Panel (5 members and 5 substitutes)		
	Conservative Group -	Member(s) – J Hart, J Knapman, J Wyatt Substitute(s) – R Gadsby, Y Knight, B Sandler	
	Liberal Democrats Group -	Member(s) – J M Whitehouse Substitute(s) – P Spencer	
	LRA Group -	Member(s) – T Cochrane Substitute(s) – L Leonard	
(iv)	Complaints Panel (Pool of 11 members)		
	Conservative Group – K Chana, S Jones, B Judd, G Mohindra, B Sandler, L Wagland, S Watson		
	LRA Group – R Brookes, D Wixley		
	Labour: P Gode		
	BNP: P Richardson		
(v)	District Development Co	ntrol Committee (15 members)	
	Conservative Group – A Boyce, K Chana, R Gadsby, A Green, J Hart*, M McEwen, G Mohindra, B Sandler, J Wyatt, H Ulkun		
	Liberal Democrats Group – P Brooks*, D Dodeja		
	LRA Group –C Finn, J Markham*		
	Independent: R Morgan		

(vi)	Overview and Scrutiny Committee (11 members)	
	Conservative Group – R Barrett, W Breare-Hall, R Gadsby, A Grigg, D Johnson, J Philip	
	Liberal Democrats Group – D Jacobs, J M Whitehouse	
	LRA Group – K Angold-Stephens, R Brookes	
	Independent Member: R Morgan (Conservative Group nomination)	
(vii)	Joint Consultative Committee (9 members plus 9 staff side representatives)	
	Conservative Group – R Bassett, C Edwards, D Johnson, G Mohindra, J Philip, C Whitbread	
	Liberal Democrats Group – J H Whitehouse	
	LRA Group – T Cochrane, C Pond	
(viii)	Essex Localism Initiative – Local Highways Panel (14 members)	
	Conservative Group – R Bassett, R Barrett, W Breare-Hall, C Edwards, S Jones, B Judd, A Lion, S Stavrou, S Watson	
	Liberal Democrats Group – D Jacobs, J Sutcliffe	
	LRA Group – C Finn, D Wixley	
	One more nomination required	

	Area Planning Sub-Committees			
(ix)	Area Plans Sub-Committee South (23 members – all local ward councillors opting -in)			
	Conservative Group (10): R Barrett, K Chana, James Hart, J Knapman, A Lion, G Mohindra, B Sandler, H Ulkun, L Wagland*, S Watson			
	Liberal Democrats Group (3): D Dodeja, P Spencer*, J Sutcliffe,			
	LRA Group (9): K Angold-Stephens*, T Cochrane, R Cohen, C Finn, Jennie Hart, J Markham, C Pond, L Leonard, D Wixley			
	BNP (1): P Richardson			
(x)	Area Plans Sub-Committee East (19 members - all local ward members)			
	Conservative Group (14): A Boyce, W Breare-Hall, D Collins, C Edwards, A Green, A Grigg, J Hedges, S Jones, B Judd, M McEwen, J Philip, B Rolfe*, D Stallan, C Whitbread			
	Liberal Democrats Group (3): D Jacobs*, J H Whitehouse, J M Whitehouse			
	Independent Member (1): R Morgan			
	Labour (1): P Gode			
(xi)	Area Plans Sub-Committee West (14 members - all local ward members)			
	Conservative Group (13): R Bassett, J Collier, R Gadsby, D Johnson, Y Knight, J Lea, W Pryor, M Sartin, P Smith*, S-A Stavrou, A Watts, E Webster, J Wyatt			
	Liberal Democrats Group (1): P Brooks*			

	Other Boards/Committees (not subject to pro rata)		
(xii)	Waste Management Partnership Board (2 members plus 2 officers and 4 representatives of the Council's Waste Management Contractor)		
	M Sartin (Environment Portfolio Holder) (Chairman): Another Cabinet Member: D Collins Director of Environment and Street Scene Council's representative under contract (officer)		
(xiii)	Leisure Management - Contract Monitoring Board (6 members)		
	Conservative Group: R Bassett, C Edwards, B Rolfe, C Whitbread		
	Liberal Democrats Group: J M Whitehouse		
	LRA Group: D Wixley		
(xiv)	"Olympic Champion"		
	Conservative Group: E Webster		

\* Group Representative

## ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING - 25 MAY 2010 - APPENDIX 8

Committees, Sub-Committees and Panels – Nominations for Chairmanships and Vice-Chairmanships

Committee	Chairman	Vice-Chairman
Licensing Committee	P Brooks (LD)	A Lion (CON)

Prior to making the appointments of 6 Licensing Sub-Committee Chairman as agreed at the last Council meeting, it is necessary for the Council to amend paragraph 2 of Appendix 4 of part 3 (Responsibility for Council Functions) of the Constitution.

Appendix 4 relates to the terms of reference of the Licensing committee and paragraph 2 to the appointment of Sub-Committees.

Present wording:

"For the functions set out in Annex 1 and legislation listed in Annex 2, a sub-committee consisting of no more than any three councillors drawn, in alphabetical order from members of the full committee shall be formed. Any such sub-committee shall elect a chairman on an ad hoc basis."

**Proposed wording:** 

Delete last sentence and substitute the following:

" Any such sub-committee shall include, by rota, one of the six Licensing Sub-Committee Chairman appointed at each Annual Council Meeting."

A mover and seconder and vote is required

Committee	Chairman	Vice-Chairman
Licensing Sub-Committees	Panel of <b>6</b> from members of the Licensing Committee to preside at meetings by rota K Angold-Stephens (LRA) M McEwen (CON) R Morgan (IND) B Rolfe (CON) M Sartin (CON) P Smith (CON)	N/A
Housing Appeals and Review Panel	C Pond (LRA) R Gadsby (CON) <b>Two nominations</b>	Nomination required
Staff Appeals Panel	J M Whitehouse (LD)	J Knapman (CON)
Complaints Panel	D Wixley (LRA)	Nomination required
District Development Control Committee	B Sandler (CON)	C Finn(LRA) G Mohindra (CON) Two nominations
Overview and Scrutiny Committee	R Morgan (IND – Conservative Group nomination)	K Angold-Stephens (LRA)
Joint Consultative Committee	R Bassett (CON)	Staff Side Nomination
Local Highways Panel	S Stavrou (CON)	R Bassett (CON)
Area Plans Sub-Committee South	K Angold-Stephens (LRA) J Hart (CON)	K Chana (CON)
Area Plans Sub-Committee East	A Boyce (CÓN)	A Green (CON)
Area Plans Sub-Committee West	J Wyatt (CON)	R Gadsby (CON)
Audit and Governance Committee	A Green (CON)	Co-opted Member – Mrs M Peddle